Skip to Content

CLEL Bell Picture Book Awards

Introducing the CLEL Bell Picture Book Awards, an annual recognition of five high-quality picture books that provide excellent support of early literacy development in young children.

CLEL Bell Awards Logo


Our mission

In support of the Colorado Libraries for Early Literacy (CLEL) mission to strengthen children's literacy through library services and community advocacy, the Bell Awards will recognize picture books that provide excellent support of early literacy development in young children, will serve as a collection development, program planning, and early literacy information resource for librarians, educators, and caregivers, and will provide recognition to authors, illustrators, and publishers.

How we choose

The Awards Committee selects five winners annually from titles suggested by CLEL members and other early literacy advocates. Nominations for the 2015 CLEL Bell Awards will be accepted from June 1, 2014 through November 15, 2014. To be eligible for the 2015 CLEL Bell Awards, a nominated book must have been published between November 16, 2013 and November 15, 2014, and meet the Bell Awards selection criteria.

View a current list of nominations.
Nominate a title.

When are awards announced?

The 2015 CLEL Bell Awards winners will be announced February 5, 2015. Be sure to subscribe to the CLEL blog and follow CLEL on Facebook or Twitter for updates!

How can I get involved?

A major goal of the CLEL Bell Awards is to promote professional conversation about excellent picture books and to provide creative ideas for sharing titles with children and families in ways that support early literacy development. Your contribution to these conversations is a valuable part of the process. Here are a few ways to participate:

Announcing the Silver Bells!

The Silver Bells are 25 picture books from the last 25 years, still
in print as of summer 2013, that the CLEL Bell Awards Selection
Committee consider to be excellent representations of the Bell Awards Selection Criteria.

Five books have been selected in each of five categories: Read,
Write, Sing, Talk, and Play. Read more about the Silver Bells.

page | about seo